Magazine submission shoot yesterday.. what a great day

Hi All. I got to shoot a magazine submission piece yesterday. For those of you that do not know, basically a magazine submission piece is a storyline you shoot and you shop it around to your fav magazines basically hoping the story will get picked up. It doesn’t happen often but it does present you with an opportunity to show off your work and your skills. Pure bonus.  I shot yesterday at the Ramada in NYC on 34th and 8th. The outside of this hotel is quite deceiving because the room I had was phenomenal.  If you are going to shoot in a hotel, I do have a few suggestions. One kinda stagger the time of your crew arriving. I had rec’d 3 phone calls about people coming to visit me in my hotel room and I am sure if i got another one, security would have been right with them. Most hotels do not like their places being shot but give me a break. Unless you are one of those people who break things, shooting in hotels is fine. This was actually my second time being in a hotel for a shoot. The first time a circuit blew and mgmt had to change the room.  I was shooting 4 models plus my team of makeup (Glasslips), Hair (Nikki) and Wardrobe(J. Jones studio).  It would have seemed liked a mad house to the naked eye and I did get a lil stressed out (cause there were lil kids around) and I do love kids but sometimes their lil balls of energy can wear on your nerves. I let it pass because I had a job to do.  The models were: Shaka, Angie, Jovaughn and Julie. Everyone was great and got along well. I do hope the piece does get picked up so I will be able to get the whole crew some tearsheets as well.

 

peace Jan